Author interview: Susanne McCarthy


[Before I begin the interview, I just want to say a quick Happy Valentine’s Day to my followers. As a special treat, today’s author interview is with a romance writer! Have a great weekend!]

image

Hello, Susanne! Thanks for agreeing to be interviewed.

Before we start, why don’t you tell us a bit about yourself?
I’m a Londoner – though I haven’t lived there for many years, it’ll always be a part of who I am. We lived in Shropshire for many years, but when we retired five years ago we moved to South Devon, where my husband is from. We live about twenty minutes’ walk from the sea, which I love.

I’m very much a dog person – over the years we have had five Afghan hounds, all rescues, as well as several Yorkshire Terriers. I am currently owned by a delinquent Border Terrier called Hollie.

Devon is ceratinly beautiful!
So, what inspired you to start writing? 
I’ve told stories since before I could write them down. At school I won several prizes for creative writing, including a national RSPCA competition. I probably began writing properly in my late twenties – I met a woman who was a concentration camp survivor, who was convinced that Von Ribbentrop was living in the quiet leafy avenues of Forest Hill. My first thought was, “Wasn’t he hanged?” – my second was, “What if…?” I began to weave a story in my head, and just had to write it down.

Then other stories began to come, demanding to be written – they bug your brain until you get them downloaded onto paper. I really wanted to write crime or thrillers, but I found that every one of them turned into a romance. So in the end I decided to scrap the other stuff, and just write the romance.

How interesting!
When you’re writing a new story, where do you start? Beginning? Middle? Title? 

The first of my books which was accepted by Mills and Boon (A Long Way From Heaven, published in 1985) came from watching Casablanca and Cheers over Christmas. I woke up one morning with the opening line in my head, “Well well, if it isn’t the merry widow,” and it went from there. The title is a mis-heard song lyric.

Most of my stories come in the same random way. Sometimes it’s a character – A Married Woman came from a pic of a girl in a magazine. Sometimes they grow out the bits that don’t fit in another story.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging about being an author?
Yes. I’m slow. Verrrry slow. I often find myself spending ages trying to think of just the right word, and I frequently go off and play computer games or check my Twitter/Facebook pages when I should be writing. I’ve read all the advice about how to speed up, but I remain slow.

Facebook and Twitter are the biggest distraction out there!
Are there any books or authors that you feel have particularly influenced you?
 
Not influenced, perhaps, but there are many I have loved. Georgette Heyer saved my sanity when I was teaching, and hating it. Terry Pratchett saves my sanity regularly when all the world seems a bit mad. When I began writing for Mills and Boon, Charlotte Lamb and Susan Napier were particular favourites.

What advice would you give to other authors? 
Write. Just write. Oh, and read.

Can I ask, if you don’t mind, what are you currently working on? 
My last book for Mills and Boon was published in 1999. I have taken a long gap since then, doing other things, but doodled around with a few stories. However, Mills and Boon didn’t want them, so I decided to try publishing them direct through Amazon. My first was a short historical western, Rogan’s Game, my second a classic Mills and Boon-type romance, Christmas Secrets.
I am just putting the finishing touches to the third, the Summer Scandalent , and working on the fourth, Chasing Stars. This one is based on a billionaire’s superyacht, sailing the Mediterranean – I’ve never read a romance set on a superyacht!

A superyacht sounds awesome!
Finally, is there anything you would like to say to your readers, or just in general? 

I wish I had a £ for every time someone’s asked me, “Why don’t you write a proper book?” Why should we apologise for reading or writing romances? So they’re fantasy, wish fulfilment – so what? Most women lead very busy, stressed lives, full of responsibilities – they’re entitled to a little fluff.

The motto on my Website, Facebook and Twitter page is from Lenny Bruce – older readers may remember him as a very rough-edged New York born satirist and social commentator. He said, “There are never enough I love you’s.” If it’s good enough for Lenny… (though the grammar may be a little questionable!)

Brilliant. Thanks, Susanne!

To learn more about the lovely Susanne Mccarthy, please visit the following links:
Her Website
Her Facebook
Her Twitter – @McCarthySusanne

One thought on “Author interview: Susanne McCarthy

Leave a comment